ENTRY 01: 07/23/2023 - OOOOHH A BIG WAN!!

I return, risen from the grave. And, I’ve decided it’s time for another blog post. Yesterday’s family gathering proved to be far more pleasant than I was expecting. The kids were well-behaved, the weather was pleasant enough that, at least in the shade, one could kick back without being cooked by the heat of the sun, and the fishing was good. I don’t typically catch many fish when we head there once a year or so, but this time I caught two! Did wonders for my morale, and was very practically useful. I know maybe 10% of the people who went to that birthday party, and desired to speak to even less, and at any party my goal is always to hold out until it’s over. Wouldn’t you know it, fishing is the perfect activity for both of those goals.

The beauty of fishing, besides its tranquility and the sudden exhilaration of catching a fish, is in its solitude and tedium. Nobody will bother you if you’re sitting on the dock with a rod in your hand, so as not to disturb your concentration. This, combined with the fact that 99% of the time you spend fishing is spent merely sitting and waiting for time to pass, makes for the perfect activity to use up a family gathering, sans uncomfortable conversations with distant relatives and their personal friends.

I did feel bad about impaling those little bait fish on hooks, though.

In any case, we’re home now, comfy and content, if a little sleepy from staying up too late last night. Really need to kick that habit. Vibes are good, and I’m feeling ready for some more work on the site. Got many plans, trying to keep them all organized and whatnot. It’s very likely there’s a bunch of things that are gonna have to change, I’m probably doing some things in a very inefficient way. Perhaps, even this blog may be subject to future optimizations… Stay tuned!