ENTRY 00: 07/21/2023 - Hello World! (extremely original title)

So, here we are with the first blog post on this website. I can’t say I’ve ever been the owner of a blog before, so this is a new experience for me. Disregard the fact that I have a presence on Tumblr, I’m of the opinion that doesn’t count. I certainly don’t use my Tumblr like a blog, at any rate, moreso a bulletin board to which I pin things that are neat.

I’ve written journals before, though I can’t say I’ve ever felt like I’ve gotten the knack for it. Ah, bittersweet memories of the burning hatred for journal assignments from primary school. Simpler times. Anyway, this blog will be the center for news and neat stuff I bother to post about for the forseeable future, primarily of the textual variety, though once I get the hang of this I’ll be sure to show off some neat images and videos or whatnot.

I’m of the belief that the recent string of… let’s say “events” rocking the major social media platforms of our day is a good sign that it’s time to return to the old ways of internet usage, tried and tested. Hence, a personal website and a blog, a much more stable repository to display and archive neat stuff than our world’s current method, placing all trust in soulless, incompetent, monolithic corporations to safeguard the little curios and meaningful nuggets we accumulate during a day of internet browsing, in perpetuity.

More importantly, two of my favorite pals, Zugerujk and MischiefNight, have also elected to create their own personal websites, and seeing as I value them immensely, and I have a little bit of baseline understanding of coding stuff, it was a no-brainer that now was the moment to put together a website of my own. It’s a double-whammy, friendship bonding and sticking it to the proverbial Man.

It’s almost as if I have my shit together sometimes, in isolated instances, if you squint really hard.

But enough rambling, I’ve got some family bonding time slated for this current time block, and I’m not about to miss it. Unfortunately, I’ve got much more “obligatory” family bonding slated for tomorrow, with sitting in the hot summer sun as a requirement alongside the usual avoidance of lamer family members and dodging the attention of a particularly hyperactive and violent 8 year old who happens to also be the birthday boy.

I’ll have to put my trust in my small library of books in my phone, and the fact that the property we’ll be on is fairly large. Pray for me.

On the plus side, there’ll be burgers and hot dogs, as well as some fishing and a river to catch frogs in, so it isn’t all bad. We’ll see how it goes.